Sponsored Research | Grant Information | Grant Opportunities/Feeds | Grant Archives |


Morehouse School of Medicine’s strong emphasis on strengthening primary care, promoting prevention and early detection, and working to reduce and eliminate health disparities has made the institution a unique academic medical center in the United States – and the world.

The biotechnologies developed by MSM researchers are targeted to prevent, diagnose and treat chronic diseases like HIV/AIDS and other infectious diseases, cancer, cardiovascular disease, metabolic and neurological disorders. Technology transfer will continue to be an important process for creating new and existing research and development efforts as well as a driving force for national and regional economic development.

Morehouse School of Medicine invites partnerships with the institution and its technology commercialization opportunities. Links to selected technologies for licensing are listed below:

Method for Identifying Salt-Sensitive Persons

Tumor Cytotoxicity Induced by Modulators of the CXCR4 Receptor

Anti–Chemokine and–Associated Receptor Antibodies and Uses for Inhibition of Inflammation

Trypanosome Derived Apoptotic Factors (TAF)

Modulating Vaccine Against HIV-1 Nef Protein Induced Lymphocyte Depletion

Neuregulins as Regulators of Stem Cell Migration

Rad Attenuation of Vascular Lesion Formation and Treatment of Vascular Diseases

Splice Variants of BRCA1

Novel Nanoparticles for Delivery of Inert and Biologically Active Agents

For more information, contact Sandra Harris-Hooker, Ph.D., interim dean, vice president and senior associate dean for Research Affairs, at (404) 752-1725 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Commercialization Opportunities

Click here to download the 2010 MSM Technology Licensing Brochure


Jonathan K. Stiles, PhD
Professor, Department of Microbiology, Biochemistry, and Immunology
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Sandra Harris-Hooker, PhD
Professor, Department of Pathology
Interim Dean, Academic Affairs
Vice President and Sr. Associate Dean, Research Affairs
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
James W. Lillard, Jr., PhD, MBA
Professor, Department of Microbiology, Biochemistry, and Immunology
Assistant Dean for Research
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Invention Disclosure

Materials Transfer Agreement

Confidentiality Agreement

Intellectual Property Committee

The Intellectual Property Committee is a standing committee that is charged by the President to advise and recommend to the President, policies and procedures for management of intellectual property matters. The Committee shall review invention disclosures and, in each case, recommend that the Institution adopt one or more of the following (within 60 days from the first scheduled meeting after the disclosure is made):

  1. determine whether the disclosure represents intellectual property that is a trade secret, or whether it is an invention that would require patent protection;
  2. ascertain whether the invention disclosure can be adequately evaluated by the intellectual property committee or whether to defer evaluation to an external intellectual property management agency.
  3. institute action to protect the disclosed invention as intellectual property of Morehouse School of Medicine.
  4. transfer intellectual property rights of the described disclosure to the research sponsor, if such transfer is required by the research agreement;
  5. waive ownership of the intellectual property rights regarding the disclosed technology in favor of the inventor and release the inventor from further responsibility to the university with respect to the technology that was disclosed,
  6. request additional pertinent information needed for the committee to evaluate the disclosure. In such circumstances, the committee shall deem the disclosure "not adequate" and the calculation of the time frames shall not begin until the requested information is received by the committee.

The members of the intellectual property committee shall be appointed by the President to serve a three-year term to include an Ad Hoc member, ex officio representation of legal and Office for Research Development.

Current membership is as follows:
Jonathan Stiles, Chair
Leonard Anderson
Harvey Bumpers
Lori Collins
Byron Ford
Nerimiah Emmett
Sandra Harris-Hooker
James Lillard
Gale Newman
Veena Rao
Qing Song
Sandra Watson


MSM Policy Manual

Intellectual Property: Copyrights and Royalties

Patents Policy

Contact Information

Office of Technology Transfer
Morehouse School of Medicine
720 Westview Drive SW
Atlanta, GA 30310-1495

For more information, contact Dr. James W. Lillard at (404) 752-1179 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..